The NSW Institute of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy is an association whose members are trained and qualified psychoanalytic psychotherapists who work according to psychodynamic principles.

The NSWIPP was established in 1976 by a group of professionals who were determined to promote the practice and teaching of dynamic psychotherapy at a time when it was fast disappearing as a subject for study in University courses in NSW.

At about the same time, most other Australian states were establishing similar psychotherapy groups, and by 1980 these had been brought into association by the establishment of a federal organisation – The Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy Association of Australasia (P.P.A.A.).

This group now has representatives from five Australian states; NSW, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia and South Australia, as well as New Zealand and publishes the Psychotherapy Journal of Australasia.


Skip to toolbar